Legislators chosen for 'Common Sense' Awards

Tuesday, September 19, 2017

DENVER — Colorado Civil Justice League has announced winners of its Common Sense in the Courtroom Awards, given to state legislators who have demonstrated a commitment to curtailing lawsuit abuse. 

Awards will be presented at CCJL’s Legislative Awards Luncheon on Friday, October 20, at the Denver Four Seasons. Tickets are available at www.CCJL.org.

CCJL is the only organization in Colorado exclusively dedicated to stopping lawsuit abuse while preserving a system of civil justice that fairly compensates legitimate victims.

“Common Sense in the Courtroom requires justice for those who have been wronged, balanced by fairness for those who may be wrongfully accused,” said CCJL executive director Mark Hillman.

A highlight of the 2017 legislative session was the passage of House Bill 1279 which addressed construction litigation by ensuring that homeowners are fully informed of costs and risks of litigation and given a formal voice in determining whether to initiate a lawsuit to resolve alleged defective construction.

“The most encouraging development this year is the growing coalition of legislators who value economic growth for all Coloradans above the narrow interests of personal injury lawyers and a handful of plaintiffs,” Hillman added.

"At CCJL, we are grateful for the bipartisan support of legislators who understand the importance of an efficient and balanced court system to our state's economy," said Jeff Weist, CCJL legislative director.

Common Sense in the Courtroom Award recipients include:

  • Representatives Jeni Arndt (Fort Collins), Jon Becker (Fort Morgan), Susan Beckman (Littleton), Perry Buck (Greeley), Terri Carver (Colorado Springs), Marc Catlin (Montrose), Phil Covarrubias (Brighton), Justin Everett (Littleton), Matt Gray (Broomfield), Leslie Herod (Denver), Edie Hooton (Boulder), Steve Humphrey (Eaton), Tracy Kraft-Tharp (Arvada), Lois Landgraf (Fountain), Polly Lawrence (Douglas County), Tim Leonard (Evergreen), Kimmi Lewis (Kim), Larry Liston (Colorado Springs), Paul Lundeen (Monument), Hugh McKean (Loveland), Clarice Navarro-Ratzlaff (Pueblo West), Patrick Neville (Franktown), Dan Nordberg (Colorado Springs), Bob Rankin (Carbondale), Kim Ransom (Douglas County), Lori Saine (Firestone), Lang Sias (Arvada), Dan Thurlow (Grand Junction), Don Valdez (La Jara), Kevin Van Winkle (Highlands Ranch), Yeulin Willett (Grand Junction), David Williams (Colorado Springs), Jim Wilson (Salida) and Cole Wist (Centennial).
  • Senators Randy Baumgardner (Hot Sulphur Springs), John Cooke (Greeley), Don Coram (Montrose), Larry Crowder (Alamosa), Bob Gardner (Colorado Springs), Kevin Grantham (Canon City), Owen Hill (Colorado Springs), Chris Holbert (Parker), Beth Martinez Humenik (Thornton), Cheri Jahn (Wheat Ridge), Kent Lambert (Colorado Springs), Dominic Moreno (Commerce City), Kevin Priola (Brighton), Ray Scott (Grand Junction), Jim Smallwood (Castle Rock), Jerry Sonnenberg (Sterling), Jack Tate (Centennial), Nancy Todd (Aurora), Angela Williams (Denver), Rachel Zenzinger (Arvada).


    Comment Form